The Africa Institute

Affiliated Faculty

Isola Ajiferuke

Isola Ajiferuke

Associate Professor, Information and Media Studies

Research Interests / Specializations: Nigeria; Information retrieval systems, Knowledge management, Informetrics
NCB 257
519-661-2111 ext 81364
iajiferu@uwo.ca
Biography
Godwin Arku

Godwin Arku

Assistant Professor, Geography

Research Interests / Specializations: Ghana; Housing policy, Economic development, Urban built environment, Development issues.
SSC 2427
519-661-2111 ext 85343
garku@uwo.ca

External link
Eric Arts

Eric Arts

Professor and Chair, Department of Microbiology & Immunology; Canada Research Chair in HIV Pathogenesis and Viral Control

Research Interests / Specializations: Uganda (Kampala); HIV-1 fitness, Evolution, and virulence in regards to transmission, Disease progression, Immune escape, Drug resistance, and Global HIV spread
DSB 3014
519-661-3427 x83427
earts@uwo.ca
Biography
Yolanda Babenko-Mould

Yolanda Babenko-Mould

 Associate Professor, Arthur Labatt Family School of Nursing, Faculty of Health Sciences

Research Interests / Specializations: Rwanda and Burundi; Curriculum development, Maternal, newborn, and child health
HSA H30
519-661-2111 ext 86541
ybabenko@uwo.ca

External link
Neil Banerjee

Neil Banerjee

Associate Professor, Earth Sciences

Research Interests / Specializations: South Africa
BGS 0166
519-661-2111 ext 83198
neil.banerjee@uwo.ca

External link
Paul Beamish

Paul Beamish

 Professor, Business

Research Interests / Specializations: Poverty Reduction, Management
Ivey Business School room 3370
(519) 661-2111 x83273
pbeamish@ivey.uwo.ca
Biography
Roderic Beaujot

Roderic Beaujot

Professor Emeritus, Sociology

Research Interests / Specializations: North Africa and French West Africa; Population and development, Childbearing, Family
SSC 5212
519-661-3689
rbeaujot@uwo.ca

External link
Helene Berman

Helene Berman

Professor and Associate Dean (Research), Faculty of Health Sciences

Research Interests / Specializations: Violence, Health equity, Social determinants of health
HSB suite 200
519-661-2111 ext 88157
hberman@uwo.ca
Biography
Kul Bhatia

Kul Bhatia

Professor, Economics

Research Interests / Specializations: Sub-Saharan Africa, Kenya, and Tanzania; Environmental topics, Public finance, Development policies and projects
SSC 4091
519-661-3666
kbhatia@uwo.ca

External link
Nandi Bhatia

Nandi Bhatia

Professor, English

Research Interests / Specializations: South Africa, Ghana, Nigeria, Rwanda; African literature, Indian diaspora in Africa, Postcolonial literature and theatre
Arts and Humanities Building, Room 3R34G
519-661-2111 ext 85819
nbhatia2@uwo.ca
Biography
Henry Boyi

Henry Boyi

Lecturer, French Studies

Research Interests / Specializations: Rwanda, Burundi, Uganda; Language teaching and learning, Community service-learning, Postcolonial literatures and theories, Francophonie
A&HB 2R02
519-661-2111 ext 87446
hboyi@uwo.ca
Biography
David F. Cechetto

David F. Cechetto

Professor, Department of Anatomy and Cell Biology (Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry) and Director of Training, Support & Access Model for Maternal, Newborn and Child Health in Rwanda

Research Interests / Specializations: Rwanda; Maternal newborn child health
Ian Colquhoun

Ian Colquhoun

Associate Professor, Anthropology, and Chair, Master’s in Environment and Sustainability Program, The Centre for Environment & Sustainability

Research Interests / Specializations: Madagascar; Primate behavioural ecology, Environmental anthropology, Ethnoprimatology, Conservation biology, Community-based conservation
SSC 3428
519-661-2111 ext 85061
colquhou@uwo.ca
Biography
Irena Creed

Irena Creed

Canada Research Chair, Watershed Sciences; Professor, Biology, Earth Sciences and Geography

Research Interests / Specializations: Kenya
BGS 3023
519-661-2111 ext 84265
icreed@uwo.ca
Biography
Rhodri Cusack

Rhodri Cusack

Associate Professor, Medical Biophysics

Research Interests / Specializations: Kenya, Rwanda
NSC 203
519-661-2111 ext 86381
rcusack@uwo.ca

External link
Regna Darnell

Regna Darnell

Distinguished University Professor of Anthropology

Research Interests / Specializations: Kenya, Senegambia; Ecosystem health, Public health, Language and culture, Gender and migration, Indigenous knowledge
Belinda Dodson

Belinda Dodson

Associate Professor, Geography

Research Interests / Specializations: Southern Africa; Migration, Gender, Development, Cities, Food
SSC 2413
519-661-2111 ext 87319
bdodson@uwo.ca
Biography
Randa Farah

Randa Farah

Associate Professor, Anthropology

Research Interests / Specializations: North and West Africa; History/memory and identity, National and other resistance movements, Collective mobilization in the context of exile and displacement, Refugees and refugee camps, Nations and nationalisms, Humanitarian aid.
SSC 3423
519-661-2111 ext 85088
rfarah2@uwo.ca
Biography
Jim Freedman

Jim Freedman

Emeritus Professor, retired as Full Professor in Anthropology in 2000

Research Interests / Specializations: Mainly in the Great Lakes (DRC, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Kenya; Aid policy, war economies, Economic approaches to conflict reduction, Blood mineral certification
C/o Jim Freedman Consulting and Writing (off-campus office)
519 645 0346
freedman@uwo.ca
Biography
Amanda Grzyb

Amanda Grzyb

Associate Professor, Information and Media Studies

Research Interests / Specializations: Rwanda and Sudan; Comparative genocide students, social movements and media
NCB 443
519-661-2111 ext 88012
agrzyb@uwo.ca

External link
Nicole Haggerty

Nicole Haggerty

Associate Professor, Ivey Business School

Research Interests / Specializations:  East Africa, Ethiopia, Ghana; Management Education, Case based education, Digital transformation in healthcare
 Ivey Business School, Room 2311
519 661 4025
nhaggerty@ivey.uwo.ca
Biography
External link
Sharareh Hekmat

Sharareh Hekmat

Professor, School of Food and Nutritional Sciences

Research Interests / Specializations: Tanzania, Kenya; Food and nutrition
Brescia University College UH-160
519-432-8353 ext 28227
hekmat@uwo.ca

External link
Melanie Katsivo

Melanie Katsivo

Adjunct Research Professor, Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry

Research Interests / Specializations: All countries of Africa
HSA 041
(519) 661-2111 Ext. 86240
melanie.katsivo@schulich.uwo.ca

External link
Cynthia Kenyon

Cynthia Kenyon

Associate Professor, Paediatrics, Neonatology

Research Interests / Specializations: Rwanda; Maternal and newborn health
LHSC, Victoria Hospital D4-206
519-646-6100 ext 64361
ckenyon@uwo.ca

External link
Mickey Kerr

Mickey Kerr

Associate Director of Graduate Programs, Associate Professor, Nursing

Research Interests / Specializations: Rwanda, East Africa, Southern Africa; Research methods, Maternal/child health, Population health
HSA H123
1-519-661-2111 ext 86573
mkerr@uwo.ca

External link
Allyson Larkin

Allyson Larkin

Assistant Professor, Social Justice and Peace Studies, King’s University College

Research Interests / Specializations: Tanzania, Uganda, Kenya; Higher Education, development, partnerships, experiential learning
DL 236
519-433-3491 x 4509
alarkin2@uwo.ca
Biography
Clark Leith

Clark Leith

Professor Emeritus, Economics

Research Interests / Specializations: Ghana, Botswana; Economics
Michael Lock

Michael Lock

 Associate Professor, Oncology

Research Interests / Specializations: East Africa and Southern Africa; Radiation oncology
A3-910 LRCP Victoria Hospital
519-685-8500x52833
michael.lock@lhsc.on.ca
Biography
Isaac Luginaah

Isaac Luginaah

Professor, Geogrpahy

Research Interests / Specializations: Kenya, Malawi, Tanzania, Ghana; Environment and health, Food security, HIV & AIDS
SSC 1409
519-661-2111 ext 86944
iluginaa@uwo.ca

External link
Katherine McKenna

Katherine McKenna

Associate Professor, History and Women's Studies and Feminist Research

LH 1204
519-661-2111 ext. 84979
kmckenna@uwo.ca

External link
Julie McMullin

Julie McMullin

Vice-Provost, International; Professor, Sociology

StvH 3107G
519-661-2111 ext 85117
mcmullin@uwo.ca

External link
Kibret Mequanint

Kibret Mequanint

Professor, Engineering

Research Interests / Specializations: South Africa, Ethiopia; Medical devices and therapeutics, Micronutrients, Food processing
TEB 439
519-661-2111 ext 88573
kmequani@eng.uwo.ca

External link
Greg Moran

Greg Moran

Professor Emeritus, Psychology, and Provost Emeritus, UWO (retired 2015); Director, Special Projects, Higher Education Quality Council of Ontario; Visiting Professor, Aga Khan University

Research Interests / Specializations: Kenya, East Africa; Early human social and emotional development, Mother-infant attachment, Early mother-infant interaction, Support and intervention in marginalized communities in the developing world
Suite 2402, 1 Yonge Street, Toronto
647 458 5281
gmoran2@uwo.ca
Biography
Immaculate Namukasa

Immaculate Namukasa

Associate Professor, Education

Research Interests / Specializations: Uganda; Curriculum, Teacher education, Schools
FEB 1023
519-661-2111 ext 82271
inamukas@uwo.ca

External link
Valerie Oosterveld

Valerie Oosterveld

Associate Professor and Associate Dean (Research and Graduate Studies), Faculty of Law

Research Interests / Specializations: Sierra Leone; areas with armed conflict (such as the Democratic Republic of the Congo); countries under consideration by the International Criminal Court (Uganda; Democratic Republic of the Congo; Central African Republic; Sudan; Kenya; Libya; Côte d'Ivoire; Mali); Gender issues in international criminal law
Law Building office 235
519-661-2111 ext 80037
vooster@uwo.ca

External link
Carole Orchard

Carole Orchard

Professor, Arthur Labatt Family School of Nursing

Research Interests / Specializations: Rwanda; Interprofessional client-centred collaborative practice
SDRI G22
519-661-2111 ext 81010
corchard@uwo.ca
Biography
Taiwo Adetunji Osinubi

Taiwo Adetunji Osinubi

Assistant Professor, English

Research Interests / Specializations: West Africa
UC 273
519 661-2111 ext. 84310
tosinubi@uwo.ca

External link
Ileana Paul

Ileana Paul

Associate Professor, French Studies and Linguistics

Research Interests / Specializations: Madagascar; Linguistics, Syntax
AHB 2R12D
519-661-2111 ext 85360
ileana@uwo.ca
Biography
Joanna Quinn

Joanna Quinn

Associate Professor, Political Science; Director, Centre for Transitional Justice and Post-Conflict Reconstruction; Cross-Appointed, Law; Affiliated-Appointed, Women's Studies and Feminist Research

Research Interests / Specializations: Uganda; Transitional justice
SSC 4158
519-661-2111 ext 85172
jquinn2@uwo.ca
Biography
External link
Gregor Reid

Gregor Reid

Professor Microbiology & Immunology and Surgery

Research Interests / Specializations: Tanzania, Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda; Microbiome and probiotics, Women's health, Environmental influences on health, Genitourinary system
Lawson Health Research Institute, Rm F3-106
519-646-6100 x65256
gregor@uwo.ca
Biography
External link
David  Spence

David Spence

Professor, Neurology and Clinical Pharmacology

Research Interests / Specializations: Kenya, Nigeria, South Africa; Stroke prevention, hypertension, measurement of atherosclerosis, vitamin therapy to lower homocysteine
SDRI room 100
519 661-2111 ext 24053
dspence@robarts.ca
Biography
Saverio Stranges

Saverio Stranges

Professor and Chair, Epidemiology and Biostatistics

Research Interests / Specializations: South Africa, Nigeria; Cardio-metabolic disease epidemiology and prevention, Dietary patterns, micronutrients and cardio-metabolic health, Sleep patterns, quality of life and ageing research, Global public health, Cross-cultural research in chronic disease epidemiology
Kresge, K201-B
519-661-2111 x86267
saverio.stranges@uwo.ca

External link
Charles Trick

Charles Trick

Professor, Biology, Public Health

Research Interests / Specializations: Most general regions with considerable experience in Kenya; Ecosystem and planetary health
NCB 402
519-661-3899
trick@uwo.ca
Biography
Jacob VanDyk

Jacob VanDyk

Professor Emeritus, Oncology and Medical BIophysics, Adjunct in Physics and Astronomy

Research Interests / Specializations: Many countries, including Zimbabwe, Ethiopis, Mozambique, Ghana, Kenya, Uganda; Providing intellectual medical physics support to lower income settings, Founder of MPWB (formerly Physicists Without Borders)
Andrew Walsh

Andrew Walsh

Associate Professor, Anthropology

Research Interests / Specializations: Madagascar; Humanitarian conservation and development, Artisanal mining, Ecotourism
SSC 3402
519-661-2111 ext 85092
awalsh33@uwo.ca

External link
Servanne Woodward

Servanne Woodward

Associate Professor, French Studies

Research Interests / Specializations: Senegal, Congo(s), Ivory Coast; Francophoie
AHB 2B018
519-661-2111 ext 88962
swoodwar@uwo.ca

External link
Ernest Yanful

Ernest Yanful

Professor, Engineering

Research Interests / Specializations: Ghana, Kenya
SEB 3006
519-661-4069
eyanful@eng.uwo.ca
Biography